EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)

EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)2023-10-04T17:49:34+01:00

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Miss S Weeks
Miss S WeeksEYFS Class Teacher
Mrs C Wilson
Mrs C WilsonSupport Staff
Miss A Szabo
Miss A SzaboSupport Staff


In EYFS, sometimes known as Foundtion or Reception class, we use the  EYFS Framework as the basis for our planning – this is a very unique way of working and follows on from any pre-school experience the children may have had.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.There are 7 areas used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The staff teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that our staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

The children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.
Children should develop the 3 prime areas first.

These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

In the new EYFS Framework these prime areas are considered the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.As the children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design

The children will also begin to learn Phonics to assist with reading; daily groups are timetabled across EYFS, Year 1 and 2 to best support the differing needs and experience of the children.


Go to Top